Crispy Kale with Coconut and Farro

It’s been a slow sunday afternoon so far. While the sun is peeking through the clouds now, just 10 minutes ago snow was falling from the grey sky above my house.

As the snow was falling I started thinking about how much slower life is when it snows.  The flakes take their time reaching the earth’s floor.  No agenda, just floating in their own time.

It was peaceful.  It reminded me to take time.  Take time to look out the window and stare at the beauty before me.  Take time to walk through the woods or in the park.  Take time make good food.  Take time to listen to the people in my life that I love, and the ones that get under my skin.  They need time too.

This sunday snow fall made me take a step back from the stress of life, the busyness of the coming week, and the vast unknown of what lies ahead of me in the coming months.  I found myself drawn to the window, not wanting to take my eyes away from the white pillows that were providing a sense of comfort.  A feeling of calm.  God was speaking a word of rest to my heart through the beauty of his creation.

It was lovely.  And it was needed.  My stress levels were beginning to build as I was looking toward this week and the ones to follow.  Projecting my fears on the unknown is something I’m quite good at.  I really know how to overwhelm myself.  I get stuck in the future and forget that I’m supposed to be living in the now.  Because really, I don’t know what the future holds for me and I miss a lot of good things wonder about something that I can’t control.

Its funny how a simple sunday snowfall can bring so much light into my crowed head and worried heart.  A simple sunday snowfall drew me back to God.  Resting in his peace.  Relishing his beauty.  Finding grace in the small things.  Recognizing love all around me.

On Sundays, I rarely make a meal.  It’s usually brunch after church or snack on whatever is in the house.  However, I’ve been dreaming about baked kale the last few days so I thought today would be a great time to try out this recipe.  I had crispy kale for the first time a couple weeks ago and, seriously, why have I just now tried this?

It’s like a really thin, healthy, delicious chip.  Into my mouth it goes, straight to my tummy.  All parties involved are so glad its happening.  Kale if fully of vitamins A, K, and C and boasts antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and cancer fighting nutrients!  Basically Kale is one of the best veggies you can eat.  Your body will thank you.  And then give you a high five.

Farro is chewy and slightly nutty, a great compliment to this dish.  Coconut adds a faint touch of sweetness while the flavors of soy and sesame create a salty bite that will make you want to the entire thing yourself.   Trust me.  I almost didn’t share.

Whether you decide to share or eat it all yourself take a moment to sit and enjoy.  Enjoy the flavors.  Enjoy the day.  Enjoy the now.

Crispy Kale with Coconut and Farro

Recipe via Joy the Baker

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp toasted sesame oil
  • 2 Tbsp soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon sriracha
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 5 cups dino kale, ribs removed and torn into bite size pieces
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut flake
  • 1 cup uncooked farro

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.
  2. In a medium saucepan, bring a couple cups of water to a boil.  Salt the water generously and add in the farro.  Turn heat down to a simmer and continue cooking farro until soft but with a bite, about 17-20 minutes.  Drain water and set aside.
  3. In a small bowl, whisk together sesame oil, soy sauce, and sriracha.  Drizzle in olive oil while whisking to emulsify the oils.
  4. Place the kale and coconut on prepared baking sheets.  Drizzle about half of the dressing over the kale and coconut and toss to coat.  Bake for about 12-15 minute, until brown and crispy.
  5. Put farro in a bowl and top with kale and coconut.  Pour leftover dressing on top.  Serve warm.  Eat seconds.  Makes 4 small, 3 medium, or 2 large servings.
Leave a Reply

