English Crumpets

I daydream a lot.  Off in my own little world, thinking about things that might not (probably won’t) ever happen.

I have alternate worlds to keep me occupied when I don’t want to be in my current reality.

Its like the opposite of meditating.

In my English world I live in a flat in London.  I take the Tube and I don’t own a car.  I have a cool business where I can work from home.  I live next to a park that is lush and green.  I go there to do my serious thinking.

In my English world own a lot of blazers.  I have really cute flats and I wear high heels.  My hair is long, still curly, but does what I want it to.  I can flip it around and stuff like on a shampoo commercial.

In my English world I have questionable teeth.  But, I’m getting them fixed.  I’m on the waiting list for the Dentist and it’ll only be like 5 more years until I get in.  But its free.  Score.

In my English world I go out to the pubs with my guy friends after they get off work.  We drink beer.  They all wear suits.

In my English world the guys are always wearing suits.  Slim cut.  Not the bulky, baggy looking ones they wear in the U.S..

In my English world I have a small cottage in the countryside near a town thats name ends with shire.  I get snowed in there in the winter.  I have a garden in the summer.  I don’t kill all the plants in this world.

In my English world I have an accent, obviously.  I get to say words like bullocks and rubbish.  Everything I say sounds proper.

In my English world I go to high tea with my girlfriends every thursday afternoon .  We wear cute skirts and high heels.  We sip tea.  We eat crumpets.  Its magical.

I’ll admit.  These crumpets gave me some trouble.  I had to make them several times before I got them right.  But finally I did!

I’ll also admit that in my in my English world Robert Pattinson may be my boyfriend.

No biggie.

Crumpets are comparable to English muffins but a bit more spongy.  These have a salty bite to them, which I enjoy.  They are best served warm off the griddle with some butter, jam, and tea.  And a little bit of day dreaming!

English Crumpets

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup bread flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp instant yeast
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup warm water

Directions

  1. Combine flours, salt, instant yeast, and sugar in a bowl.  Add the 1 cup warm water and beat until smooth and elastic.  Cover bowl with plastic wrap and place in a warm place to rise about 1 1/2 hours.
  2. Grease 5 or 6 crumpet rings (3-3 1/2 inches).  Heat a griddle or large saute pan on medium high heat. Place rings on griddle to warm.
  3. Dissolve baking soda in 1/2 cup warm water.  Mix into dough until well combined.  Using an ice cream scoop or a ladle, scoop batter into each ring about 1/2 in deep in the ring.  Cook for about 7-10 minutes or until the surface sets and is full of tiny bubbles.  Using an oven glove or tongs, lift the rings from the crumpets.  Flip the crumpets over and continue cooking for about 3 minutes until the other side is golden brown.  Continue process, re-greasing rings after each batch until all crumpet dough is cooked.
  4. Serve crumpets warm with butter, jam, fresh fruit, or any other topping your heart and taste buds desire.  Makes about 12 large crumpets.
2 thoughts on “English Crumpets

Leave a Reply

