Spaghetti Squash with Bolognese Sauce

Its a new year now.  We’re 5 days in.  How are those resolutions coming along?

I confess, I sort of failed mine on January 1st.  You see, I’m not good at staying in touch with people.  I don’t enjoy talking on the phone.  I get uncomfortable when the awkward silence sets in and I always seem to talk at the same time the other person starts to say something.  Then we both stop.  Then we both start talking again.  Its a weird cycle that I kind of loath.

Anyways, so my semi-resolution was to keep in better contact with people.  Mostly just my family and a couple friends from back in New Mexico.  Then, come January 1st my mom and one of my brothers both called me and I just didn’t answer.  Epic Fail.

I’ll keep trying though.

There are a lot of things that I could resolve to do in 2012.

Clean my house more.  Do the dishes more often.  Spend less time wasting my life on facebook.  Make new friends.  Push beyond my comfort zone.  Don’t let fear take over.  Use pretty dishes for everyday eating.  Take more walks.  Love people better.  Love Jesus more.  Try to figure out what I’m going to do with my life.

Oh the list could be endless.  And so are the lengths of the resolutions.  Because all of the above mentioned are things that I could do better next year and the one after that.

  So really what I’m going to in 2012 is take it one day at a time.  I’m going to do my best to love well.  I’m going to eat my oatmeal out of a pretty bowl just because I enjoy it more when I do.  I’m going to both push myself and give myself grace.  I’m going to (try) to take life a little less serious all the time.

I’m also going to eat a lot of spaghetti squash topped with healthy Bolognese sauce.  

Seriously, I’ll probably be eating it all week long.  I made way too much for one person.

Good thing its tasty and healthy and I didn’t screw it up which I’m usually afraid of doing when I don’t have a set recipe!

I really enjoy spaghetti squash.  The first time I made anything with it was when I made this.  And I fell in love.

Its a perfect substitute if you’re gluten free or trying to cut back on those starchy carbs.  The sauce is filled with tomatoes, onion, red pepper, and lean beef.  Sprinkle in some salt, pepper, and oregano and you’ve got yourself a dinner that your body will love you for.


Spaghetti Squash with Bolognese Sauce

Serves 4-6

Ingredient

  • 1 large spaghetti squash, halved and roasted
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 package of lean beef (I used 90% lean beef from Trader Joe’s)
  • 1-28 oz can of Plum tomatoes
  • 1-14 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 tablespoon Oregano
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1/4 cup parmigiano reggiano cheese
  • Fresh basil leaves, chopped for garnish
  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil

Directions

  1. To roast squash, preheat oven to 400 degrees and cut squash in halve lengthwise.  Rub 1 tablespoon olive oil on squash and season with salt and pepper.  Roast cut side up for 20 minutes.  Turn squash over and roast for another 20 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large sauce pan on medium heat saute onion, pepper, and garlic until onion appears translucent, about 4-5 minutes.  Add beef, breaking up with a spatula. Stir occasionally until it is cooked through.  Add about 1 tsp of salt, 1/2 teaspoon pepper, and the oregano.  Add in both cans of tomatoes and stir together, breaking up plum tomatoes with the spatula.  Cover sauce with lid and let simmer for 20-30 minutes on medium low heat.  Remove pan from heat.
  3. Use a fork to scrape the meat of the squash away from its skin.  Season squash with salt and pepper.  Place the spaghetti squash on a pretty plate and top with bolognese sauce.  Top the sauce with basil and parmigiano cheese.  Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Spaghetti Squash with Bolognese Sauce

Leave a Reply

