Boozy Salted Caramel Chocolate Truffles

I love living in a big city.

One reason is that I don’t have to worry about running into people I know at random times when I’m not expecting it.

However, on the rare occasion that I do run into someone, its usually at the grocery store when I’m buying popcorn, wine, and tampons.

Thats when things gets slightly awkward and I’m reminded of why I don’t like running into people.

I don’t love when I miss judge how early I should get to the airport during Christmas time.

Thanksgiving?  No one there.  Christmas?  That place was filled to the max.

Lines out the ying-yang.  One of the Christmas presents that I got my dad had to be thrown away.  Theeen, I had to run to my gate to get on my flight.

And all at the chipper time of 6:00 AM!

I also don’t love making decisions.  I’m really bad at it.  Truly, its one of my flaws.

I could have had my Christmas shopping done in one day but I just could not make up my mind.  So, five days and way too many trips to the mall later I was finally finished!

And I think I ended up buying everyone the same things I was thinking about getting them on the first day.

I need to work on that.   New Years resolution perhaps?  I do love chocolate.  And truffles are the ultimate chocolate treat.

Dense, rich, creamy, melt-in-your-mouth goodness.  What more can a girl ask for?

Oh, salted caramel and irish cream?

Well alright, if you insist…These truffles are a great, last minute Christmas gift that will leave you with no decisions except which chocolate to buy.

Plus, they make people feel like they’re your favorite.  And lets face it, everyone loves being a favy.

Caramel can be intimidating to a lot of people, but its totally doable and worth the effort. The truffle part is truly easy, and then things get a little fun (and messy) when its time to roll truffle mixture in little balls.

With a little more work added you can cover the truffles in melted chocolate.  Or for a bit easier route roll them cocoa powder, nuts, or powdered sugar.  All tasty options!

Just makes these.  Everyones mouth will thank you and their tummies will give you a high five… I promise.

Boozy Salted Caramel Chocolate Truffles

Very slightly adapted from Bakers Royale

Ingredients

Truffle:

  • 11 oz dark chocolate (I used Guittard 63% chips)
  • 8 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup salted caramel (recipe to follow)
  • 2 tablespoons Irish Cream (you can omit this if you don’t want the booze)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups dark chocolate chips, melted

Instructions

  1. Place heavy cream in a saucepan and heat over medium heat until simmering slightly.  Meanwhile, place chocolate in a heat proof bowl.
  2. Pour heated cream over chocolate and let sit for 5 minutes.  Then stir cream and chocolate together until smooth.  If chocolate has not completely melted, place bowl of chocolate mixture over a saucepan with simmering water and continue to stir until the chocolate and cream smoothly melted together.
  3. Remove from heat and let sit for 20 minutes.
  4. Stir in salted caramel and then add in Irish cream, stirring until fully incorporated.
  5. Pour mixture into a flat casserole dish, cover with plastic wrap and place in refrigerator for about 3 hours, or until mixture is set.
  6. Remove chilled truffle mixture from the fridge.  Using a melon baller or small ice cream scoop, scoop out chocolate rounds.  Finish forming truffles by hand and place on a parchment or silpat lined baking sheet.
  7. If dipping truffles, place a truffle in the melted chocolate and roll around with a fork until completely covered.  Use fork to lift truffle from chocolate, shaking off any excess melted chocolate.  Scrape the bottom of the fork against the edge of the bowl to remove excess chocolate and slide covered truffle off of fork and onto a clean, lined baking sheet.  Continue until all truffles have been covered.  Transfer covered truffles to fridge to let chocolate set.  Use any leftover caramel to decorate truffles, if desired.
  8. If rolling truffles, place cocoa powder on a small plate.  Take each truffle and roll in cocoa powder until covered.  Place covered truffle on a pretty plate or parchment paper.  Continue until all truffles have been covered.

*You can also cover the truffles in chopped nuts, such as almonds or pistachios, or roll them in powdered sugar.

Salted Caramel:

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 6 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Instructions

  1. Place sugar and water in a saucepan over medium low heat.  Stir until sugar has been dissolved and use a wet pastry brush to remove any crystals that form on the side of the pan.
  2. Once sugar has dissolved increase the heat to high.  Do not stir the mixture from now on, but occasionally swirl the pot using the handle to keep the mixture moving.
  3. After a few minutes the mixture will start to bubble.  Let mixture cook for about 5-7 minutes, or until caramel is a medium amber color.  Be careful to watch the mixture once it begins to caramelize because it will happen quickly and you don’t want it to burn.
  4. Add butter and cream and whisk vigorously.  The mixture will bubble like crazy at first so don’t freak out.. thats supposed to happen.
  5. Remove from heat and add salt, stir until combined.
Leave a Reply

