Chocolate Peppermint Patty Cookies

I realized today that its like half way through December already.  Say whaaaat?

I feel like the last few weeks have been a blur.  So much going on, so much to do.

I finished up school last week.  Cramming for finals and writing crazy long papers.  All I really wanted to do was be in the kitchen, but, alas, that was farthest thing from reality.

But, now that I’m finished for the term I am ready to get some holiday baking done!

Every year I have extravagant plans in my head to bake copious amounts of cookies and give them out to all my friends and loved ones.

Usually my plans are far fetched from what I can realistically get done without driving myself bonkers, so this year I’m scaling back.

I think we all put way too much pressure on ourselves to “get everything done” around the holidays and miss we out on a lot of the small jewels of happiness and joy that are available to us.

So, I’m trying not to stress this season.  I’ll bake what I can and shop when I have the time. I probably won’t decorate much (or at all) since I’ll be back home in New Mexico for Christmas, and also because I’m terrible at taking decorations down… I’d leave them up til like April.

But I will play Christmas music and enjoy other people’s lights.  And if you put up a Christmas tree or bake cookies I’ll give you a high five and tell you to take a break.

Cause you know what?  You deserve it!  Relax.  Enjoy the moment.  Give yourself a pat on the back and be okay with what you have and have not gotten done.

Thats what I did when I finished these cookies yesterday!

Chocolate and peppermint are the star attraction in these festive cookies.  Peppermint patties are wrapped in a chocolate cookie dough, drizzled with white chocolate, and sprinkled with crushed candy canes.  The chocolate cookie dough is similar to a shortbread and mellows out the sweetness of the peppermint patty nicely.

I was semi disappointed because the cookies aren’t really soft.  So, if you don’t like crunchy cookies these may not be your cup of tea.  However if you enjoy that sort of thing these are a great, festive cookie to enjoy yourself or give away!

Chocolate Peppermint Patty Cookies

Recipe from Rachael Ray Magazine

Makes about 2 dozen

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 stick unsalted butter, slightly softened
  • 1 egg
  • 24 miniature peppermint patties
  • 4 oz white chocolate (not chips), chopped

Directions

  1. Using an electric or handheld mixer, beat the flour, cocoa powder, both sugars, salt, and baking soda on low speed.  Beat in butter, then the egg.  Turn out dough onto a piece of plastic wrap.  From dough into a disk and place in the refrigerator until firm, about 1 hour.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare two baking sheets with parchment paper, a silpat, or cooking spray.
  3. Working with 1 Tbsp of dough at a time, use your fingers to evenly encase each peppermint patty with dough.  Place on baking sheet and continue until all peppermint patties are covered.
  4. Bake until just firm to the touch, about 15 minutes.  Remove oven and transfer cookies to a cooling rack to cool completely.
  5. Meanwhile, in a double boiler or a small heat proof bowl set over a small saucepan of simmering water, melt the white chocolate until smooth.
  6. Drizzle* white chocolate over the cookies and sprinkle peppermint candy canes over the top.
  7. Let cool completely before storing in an airtight container.

*The chocolate I was working with was not drizzling very well so I used a pastry bag to stripe the cookies.  If you do not have a pastry bag you can also use a small plastic sandwich bag and cut a tiny hole in one of the corners.

Leave a Reply

