Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Banana Bread

I’m procrastinating. I’m a procrastinator.  I don’t want to be!  I promise.

It’s just so much easier to convince myself that looking at blogs, reading Women’s Health Magazine, and watch Nigella Lawson on the cooking channel are much better ideas than reading about the people who moved west in the late 19th century.

Yeah, the Oregon trail is neat.  Their lives were strenuous.  Their story is fascinating.  But I still don’t want to read about it.  Not right now anyway.

Plus I’m feeling kind of sick and that means I shouldn’t have to do homework, right?

Instead, lets talk about Nigella for a minute.  My boyfriend informed me today that he thinks she’s hot.

My response?  “Uh, yeah she is.”

That woman is so beautiful!  And she makes everything sound so appealing with her soothing, English-accented voice.  I’m jealous.  I really can’t blame him for crushin on her.

Maybe now he’ll understand why I have a crush on Robert Pattinson.

Hmm, maybe not.  I don’t think that one can be explained.

  You know what can be explained?  This awesome pumpkin, banana bread!

Thats right.  Pumpkin and banana together in one flavorful, slightly sweet, completely tasty bread.  Its a combination that works beautifully.

The flavors meld together nicely, yet stand on their own enough for both flavors to be distinguished.  

And yes, I added chocolate chips.  You’re welcome.

Seriously though, I love chocolate chips in quick breads.  They soften just enough to easily bite through, yet maintain their shape.  It’s a delicious flavor and texture sprinkled throughout this bread.  I throughly enjoy it.  I’m certain you will too.

Guess what!  You can make a loaf of bread, or cute individual muffins.  I did both.  You can too!

Or just do one or the other.  Whatevs.

And then, while you stuff your face with this delicious fall bread, you too can procrastinate.  Turn on Nigella, or pop in a RPattz movie.  I won’t judge.  Just do your thang.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Banana Bread

Adapted slightly from Rebecca Thinks…

Makes one large loaf or about 16 muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 bananas, mashed
  • 1 cup pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Heaping 1/2 cup of chocolate chips (add more or less if you like)
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease loaf pan or muffin tin, or line muffin tin with cupcake liners.
  2. Combine dry ingredients in a small bowl.
  3. Whisk together bananas, pumpkin, oil, and eggs in a large bowl.
  4. Add flour mixture to pumpkin banana mixture.  Stir until just combined.
  5. Stir in chocolate chips.
  6. Fill loaf pan or divide batter into muffin tin.
  7. Bake until tops are golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  About 40-45 minutes for the loaf pan and 30 minutes for muffins.
  8. Let cool on a wire rack or eat while still warm!
Yummy!  Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

