Blackberry Whole Wheat Scones

I love scones.  They are my favorite breakfast treat by far.

I love them more than croissants or doughnuts, bear claws or quiche.

When I first moved to Portland I scoured through the most popular bakeries looking for a delicious scone.  When I finally found the best at Baker and Spice Bakery I was hooked.  That was my weekend breakfast treat… every. single. weekend.

My boyfriend, Josiah, and I would go on Saturday mornings.  We’d lingered through the farmers market by my apartment, let the anticipation build a little bit, and then head over to the bakery for coffee and breakfast.  These particular scones are filled with cranberries, almond flakes, and oats.  They’re dense and buttery, sweetened mostly by the dried cranberries.  Thinking about them makes my mouth water and my heart long to have one right in front of me.  They are truly heavenly!

When I moved out of downtown and to the suburbs, I didn’t make it over to Baker and Spice as much as I would have liked to.  But, one fateful day my darling mother signed up for a baking class through Baker and Spice’s sister store, Sweet Wares.

And guess what they made?  You are correct, those precious scones.  Needless to say when I thought of making scones this week I went straight to that recipe.  And here’s how it turned out.

I made some adjustments.  Not because I thought the recipe needed it, but because I was curious to play around with it, and also because I didn’t want to go to the store.

1). I used blackberries instead of cranberries, 2). I used ground almond instead of almond flakes, and 3). I used all whole wheat flour instead of a mix of whole wheat and all-purpose.

The end product is a buttery, hearty scone with that faint sweetness that I love.  While I did enjoy the blackberries, I suggest trying frozen blueberries or huckleberries instead.  The blackberries are harder to work with since they are so much larger.  Of course, you can stick with the original and add dried cranberries if your heart so desires.

Whatever you choose, these scones will be a lovely treat any day of the week!

~If you live in or have the chance to visit Portland and are looking for a great bakery I whole heartedly suggest Baker and Spice.  The space is warm, friendly, and inviting with lots of places to sit, eat, and linger over coffee.  And the pastry case is stocked full of goodies… it’s kind of ridiculous.  They have a great array of both sweet and savory items.  You will surely find something for everyones taste buds!~

Blackberry Whole Wheat Scones

Makes about 18 scones

Ingredients

  • 4 cups  whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 sticks butter
  • 2 1/2 cups oats
  • 1 1/2 cup almonds
  • 2 1/2 cups blackberries
  • 1 1/3 cup buttermilk plus more more brushing
  • Turbinado sugar for sprinkling
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.
  2. Whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.
  3. Cut butter into cubes and add to the flour mixture.
  4. Cut butter into the flour until it is the size of large peas.
  5. Stir in the oats, almonds, and blackberries.
  6. Add the buttermilk and stir just until dry ingredients are moist.
  7. Turn out dough onto the counter top and divide into 3 equal lumps.
  8. Press each lump into a 6″ disk then brush with buttermilk and top with turbinado sugar.
  9. Divide disks into 6 equal triangles and place on baking sheet.
  10. Put scones in freezer for 10 minutes before baking.
  11. Bake scones for 25-30 minutes or until golden brown on top.
*These scones freeze really well and are a great treat to have in your freezer for unexpected guests, or if you just get a craving for one!  Simply freeze scones on the baking sheet for about 30-40 minutes.  Remove and wrap scones in plastic wrap and place in a sealed bag.  To bake frozen scones directly from freezer, just add 5-10 minutes on the baking time and you should be set!
Baked scones will last for 3 days in an air tight container at room temperature.
One thought on “Blackberry Whole Wheat Scones

Leave a Reply

