Whole Wheat Banana Zucchini Muffins

When I was younger we would go to Puerto Penasco, Mexico for spring break every year.  A bunch of family friends would travel with us so it turned out to be a big group of friends heading down there for the week.  In preparation for the trip my mom would always go to Sam’s Club (its like Costco) to get food for the week.  My mom would usually buy those giant muffins they sell there to eat for breakfast and snacks.

They were huge.  My favorite was chocolate with chocolate chips.  I could down one those things like no ones business.  I was sort of a chubby kid, but I don’t wanna talk about that.

Geez, I haven’t had a chocolate muffin in a long time.  I might have to remedy that soon.

But first, we need to talk about these delicious, totally good-for-you banana zucchini muffins.

Thats just a bunch of green goodness right there.  These muffins are laced with zucchini but you’d never know unless I told you.  Which I just did, so now you can simply enjoy the fact that you’re eating vegetables that taste like sugar.

Beside zucchini, these muffins are packed with banana, flax seed, whole wheat flour, and millet seeds, which add a delightful texture.  There’s actually a low amount of sugar, and guess what?  No butter or oil!  I know, I could hardly believe it either, especially after biting into one of them.

These muffins won’t disappoint, I promise.  Eat one for breakfast, a snack, or even dessert.  They’re versatile.  A multi-purpose sort of muffin.

Whole Wheat Banana Zucchini Muffins

  • Non-stick cooking spray
  • 1 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup millet seeds
  • 3/4 cup lightly packed light brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups grated zucchini
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup mashed banana
  • 3/4 cup almond milk*
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Lightly coat a muffin pan with non-stick spray.
3. In a large bowl mix together flour, flaxseeds, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.
4. Stir in zucchini and banana.
5. In a small bowl mix together almond milk, egg, and vanilla.
6. Add milk mixture to flour mixture and stir until just combined.
7. Stir in millet seeds. (Don’t over mix!)
8. Divide batter into muffin cups.
9. Bake until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.  About 20-25 minutes.
* The recipe from shutterbean used whole milk.  I had almond milk on hand so I just used that.  You could substitute skim, 1%, or 2% milk and the muffins should turn out fine.
Enjoy!
3 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Banana Zucchini Muffins

  1. I wish you hadn’t shared that I would buy Sam’s muffins. I was hoping that I had baked enough for the entire week! These look amazing and I will have to make soon.

Leave a Reply

