A Look Back- Summer Livin

I’m taking a look back at summer 2012.  It was filled with travels, milestones, new adventures, new friends and lots of good food.
Come take a look!

My summer started off great with a little jaunt across the Atlantic.  I took my passport and hopped on a plane to Berlin with my BF, his brother, and his brothers GF.
We saw the Berlin Wall in a walking tour around Berlin.  In Prague we went to the beautiful St. Vitus Cathedral and sipped on coffee in the Old Town Square.  We rode the train from city to city, passing by beautiful fields of yellow.  We stayed across from and saw an Opera at the Staatsoper in Vienna.
We ate lots of food… of course!  Gelato was a great afternoon snack in Prague.  Lemon sorbet was a (very delicious) palate cleansers at a Italian influenced dinner.  Beer gardens in Prague and Munich made for a great afternoon break.  Bread and cheese from the Naschmarkt was the perfect lunch after our arrival in Vienna.  Coffee was a daily occurrence.  But the fragilite from Demel Pastry Shop in Vienna was by far my favorite treat of the trip!
I started two jobs this summer.  One at a gym.  The other at a podiatrist office.  I’ve taught people how to squat and lunge.  I’ve learned lots about natural foot health.  (Correct Toes are a miracle worker and shoes should be flat, wide, and flexible… just so you know)
I graduated from college!  So did Mirjam and Lisa.  We were all very excited in our square hats and giant gowns.
I saw the great outdoors.
I went to Mount Saint Helens.  I hiked to the top of peaks to see incredible views of Mt. Hood.  I saw the Columbia River Gorge in all its glory.  I took strolls through the park.  And I walked across suspension bridges.
I ate foods.
Pizza at Nostrana.  Salt and Straw ice cream.  Bone marrow and pretzel toast.  Kale salad from Caveman Cart.  TWO double yolk eggs (that never happens!).  A paleo picnic breakfast in the park.  S’mores deconstructed with a side of bourbon.  Shrimp and veggie skewers for dinner on the deck.
Its been a good eating summer!
I drank drinks!
Brew fest was fun and raspberry beer was my fav.  Red wine with JoJo B on NW 23rd.  Gin and tonic at the Mansion.  Purple haze with my mom.  Margaritas on the rocks.
I took another trip this summer.
I headed North to Canada with my momma.
We got on a boat to Victoria, BC.
We went whale watching on a small boat.  It was crazy cold and we were all just as excited as a kid at Disneyland when we saw the whales.
Butchart gardens was beautiful and unique.  After a stroll through the gardens we had ginger orange scones at high tea.
We stayed at Abbeymoore Manor, a beautiful bed and breakfast run by the nicest people! The mornings were enjoyed with a cup of coffee while we ate homemade breakfast.
The harbor was filled with boats and the sky filled with clouds!
I became obsessed with three things.
Chocolate popsicles.  Bing cherries.  Annie’s bunnies.
Boom Boom Pow!
I got my nails done did.
I blazed like nobodies blazeness.
I yolo’d a haircut.
I also listened to lots of JtB and Shutts
I found this old picture of my family vacation.  We were in Hawaii.  And, obviously, we were thrilled.
This picture continues to make me laugh… every time I see it.  I have got to get back into lady bugs…
 All in all, my summer was great summer.  Tell me about yours!
P.S. I am now ready for bright colored leaves, cool autumn breezes, and comfy sweaters.

4 thoughts on “A Look Back- Summer Livin

  1. I laughed out loud at the ladybugs comment. Hahahah. You are hilarious, my friend. Well now that I have this short snippet, I guess we’re all caught up. NOT. Let’s do drinks or something soon. Your deck, maybe?? :)

  2. I LOVED reading this. You seemed to have really lived it up this summer… and beautiful photography by the way. Really cool :)

Leave a Reply

