Yogurt Lemon Cake

Hi friends!

Its been a few days (slash weeks)… again.  And I’ve been missing you!… (again).

I’ve been out of the kitchen and in the workplace lately.  I’ve been entertaining family and wearing a graduation cap.  Life has had me busy and time has passed by leaving my measuring cups empty and my oven cold.

There are a lot of things I could tell you about from the last several weeks.  I could talk about my new job and how I work with feet.  I could tell you about the older man who couldn’t reach his foot leading me to put toe socks on his feet for him.  I could tell you that his feet were kind of gross and the toe sock definitely did not slide on easily.  Awkward.

I could also tell you about the running group that I agreed to lead since my boss was on vacation.  The one in which all the participants smoked me in the run… who knew pick ups would be so dang hard?  They all ran six.  I stopped at four.  Total fail.  I decided then that I am not a runner.  And I don’t think I want to be… I was debating for a few months.

I could tell you about the ridiculously boring speech given at my graduation ceremony.  You know its bad when she starts recounting life stories starting in 1950.  Don’t they screen these speeches beforehand?  Probably not.  No, definitely not.  What I want to tell you about is this cake

This cake tastes like summer! (even when its still raining in Portland)

Lemons are zested, sugar is measured.   Combined together and you get lemon sugar!  The zest permeates the sugar which helps with more even distribution in the cake. Sugar also helps release the oils in the zest.  Oil equals flavor.

Greek yogurt makes things tender and moist.  A lot of people hate the word moist.  I really don’t mind it.  Just so you know… fun, useless fact.

The recipe called for whole-milk Greek yogurt but I had 0% on hand.  You’ve got choices!

After the eggs, oil, and vanilla are added the dry ingredients get folded in.  Then into the loaf pan it goes.

Stray batter gets eaten with your fingers.  Taste test!

Real talk:  By the time this cake came out of the oven it was too dark to take pictures.  The next day was packed with events so I didn’t have time for a photo op then either.  Sooo, I ended up leaving the cake in the loaf pan for a few days, wrapped with a bunch of plastic wrap to ensure it didn’t get dried out.

The result?  Faaaantastic.  Really, I love this cake.  It tender and lemony… even after sitting a few days.  Fresh strawberries make it extra special!

You deserve good cake this summer.  Get into it!

Yogurt Lemon Cake

Recipe from Bon Appetit Magazine (called French yogurt cake in the magazine)

Ingredients

  • Nonstick vegetable oil spray
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon finely grated lemon zest
  • 3/4 cup whole-milk Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray 8.5 x 4.25 inch loaf pan.  Dust pan with flour, tap out excess flour.  Set aside.
  2. In a small bowl whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In a medium bowl, using your fingers rub together lemon zest and sugar until zest is completely incorporated and sugar is moist.  Whisk in yogurt, eggs, oil, and vanilla extract.  Fold in dry ingredients.
  4. Pour batter into prepared pan.  Place pan in oven and bake until cake is golden and skewer inserted comes out clean; about 50 minutes.
  5. Let cake cool for about 15 minutes in pan.  Invert cake onto cooling rack to cool completely.
  6. Enjoy with summer berries, ice cream, whipped cream, or wherever your imagination takes you!
2 thoughts on “Yogurt Lemon Cake

Leave a Reply

