Blood Oranges with Basalmic Cream

When I was little I was very much a girly girl.

I loved Barbies and baby dolls and playing dress up.  I loved dancing and make-up and twirly skirts.  As far as I can remember I enjoyed shiny things.  I liked jewelry and big bows in my hair.

Nowadays I like to punch my boyfriend in the arm to show him how tough I am.  I hardly ever wear make-up and I fee self-conscious if I wear anything super bright or shiny.

I think I was cooler back then.

When I was little I wanted to work at McDonalds and be a cheerleader when I grew up.  I thought it would be really cool to have a headset and pom poms caught my eye.

My aspirations were low, which means I can pretty much do anything now and I’ll have accomplished my goals and then some.  Winning.

When I was little I didn’t like cartoons and instead opted for soap operas.  I’d quickly change the channel back to Nick Jr. if my babysitter walked in though.  I’m pretty sure I never got caught.  I learned to be sneaky at a young age.. ninja like.

I’ve since lost a bit of my skill.  Now I just get caught looking at blog posts about donuts while I’m at my internship.  At a gym.  Where people are trying to get healthy.  Failing.

When I was little I played soccer for one year.  I wasn’t good.  I didn’t understand what was going on and my hand did this weird twisting thing when I was trying to handle the ball.  It felt awkward.  Luckily they stuck me in goalie and, since the rest of my team was good, I hardly got any action.  I was always so relieved.

At half time, someone’s mom would bring the token snack– orange slices.  I wasn’t impressed.  Couldn’t they have picked up some Little Debbie’s or something?

I’ve been unimpressed by oranges ever since.  Then God sent blood oranges into my life.

Sometimes unassuming with a bright orange peel and at other times giving away their beauty with a blush of their covering, blood oranges are special all by themselves.  These ruby jewels vary in color intensity but their sweet, tart flavor is never lacking.

These particular blood oranges are topped with a basalmic cream that will have your tasted buds slightly confused at first, but then wanting more and more.  Cream fraiche, a touch of sugar, and basalmic vinegar combine to create a unique sauce that is perfect for topping fresh fruit, ice cream, or frozen yogurt.

This dessert is fresh, easy, and beautiful all in one!  Winning.  Definitely winning.

Blood Orange Segments with Basalmic Cream

Recipe from Giada’s Family Dinners

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 6 Blood Oranges
  • 3/4 cup inexpensive basalmic vinegar
  • 1/3 cup creme fraiche
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  1. Using a very sharp knife, cut the ends off of the oranges and then cut the rest of the peel and white pith away from the orange. Cut between the membranes to release the segments.
  2. In a small saucepan, combine vinegar, creme fraiche, and sugar. Whisk over medium-high heat until mixture thickens, about 8 minutes.
  3. Arranges orange segments on a plate and top with basalmic cream.  Serve warm or at room temperature.
One thought on “Blood Oranges with Basalmic Cream

Leave a Reply

